main page tour dates live reviews and photos news downloads buy albums 45s video books lyrics gallery features history and timeline memorabilia related bands and artists sessions/covers links help using Strawbsweb search site tell a friend book Strawbs get Strawbswebnews join Witchwood change your e-mail Facebook etc

Two Weeks Last Summer front cover


  • newly remastered & expanded edition of the classic 1972 solo album by Strawbs founder Dave Cousins
  • featuring Rick Wakeman, Roger Glover, Jon Hiseman & Miller Anderson
  • remastered from the original master tapes
  • with five bonus tracks
  • fully restored artwork and new essay by Dave Cousins
  • release date 29 Nov 2019
  • Esoteric Recordings are pleased to announce the release of a newly re-mastered edition of the classic 1972 solo album by Strawbs founder Dave Cousins, Two Weeks Last Summer.

    Recorded at The Manor studio, Oxfordshire in June 1972, the album followed on the heels of the highly successful Strawbs album Grave New World. With many songs still to record, Dave Cousins chose to record a solo album utilising different musicians.

    An impressive cast of players was drafted for the sessions including former Strawbs member and keyboard player Rick Wakeman, bassist Roger Glover (from Deep Purple), drummer Jon Hiseman (from Colosseum) and guitarist Miller Anderson (from the Keef Hartley Band). The album also saw contributions from future Strawbs member Dave Lambert.

    Two Weeks Last Summer featured a host of wonderful material, including the epic "Blue Angel", the classic title track (later recorded by Sandy Denny/Fotheringay), "We'll Meet Again Sometime", "The Actor" and "Ways And Means". Although failing to chart upon its release, the album is now regarded as a lost classic and worthy of anything Strawbs recorded at the peak of their success.

    This Esoteric Recordings edition has been newly re-mastered from the original master tapes and features five bonus tracks. The release restores the original artwork and includes a new essay by Dave Cousins.

    See also the original album page.

    musicians track listing versions


    Dave Cousins (vcls, gtrs, pno, "tinklies")
    Dave Lambert (gtrs, vcls)
    Miller Anderson (ld gtrs, slide gtr)
    Jon Hiseman (drms, perc)
    Roger Glover (bs)
    Tom Allom, Rick Wakeman (kybds)
    Dave Lambert, Tom Allom, Tom Newman (bck vcls)

    Track listing

    1. Two Weeks Last Summer (Cousins)
    2. October To May (Cousins)
    3. Blue Angel (Cousins)
    4. That's The Way It Ends (including The World) (Cousins)

    5. The Actor (Cousins)
    6. When You Were A Child (Cousins)
    7. Ways And Means (Cousins)
    8. We'll Meet Again Sometime (Cousins)
    9. Going Home (Cousins)
    10. Bonus tracks on Esoteric release

    11. The Actor (alternate mix) (Cousins)
    12. Ways And Means (alternate take) (Cousins)
    13. I've Been My Own Worst Friend (Cousins)
    14. See How They Run (1972 demo with Dave Lambert) (Cousins/Lambert)
    15. The Rip Off Blues (1972 demo) (Cousins)

    Please enable Javascript to view Strawbsweb

    . Click on my name to e-mail me.