main page tour dates live reviews and photos news downloads buy albums 45s video books lyrics gallery features history and timeline memorabilia related bands and artists sessions/covers links help using Strawbsweb search site tell a friend book Strawbs get Strawbswebnews join Witchwood change your e-mail Facebook etc


TIMELINE - 1964


Date Event Source

Thu 2 Jan 1964

Luton

DC

Sat 4 Jan 1964

John Berry playing at the Cellar, Cecil Sharp House

DG

Sun 5 Jan 1964

Enterprise Hampstead
also playing : Barry Beattie

DC/DG

Mon 6 Jan 1964

Alhambra Croydon

DC

Sat 11 Jan 1964

Black Horse Rathbone Place Hootenanny Ballads & Blues
also playing: Alex Campbell, Jamie Dunbar

DC/DG

Thu 16 Jan 1964

BBC Three's Company recording

DC

Sun 19 Jan 1964

Railway Brentwood

DC

Thu 23 Jan 1964

Pear Tree Welwyn Garden City

DC

Fri 24 Jan 1964

BEA Trident Club Ruislip

DC

Sat 25 Jan 1964

Black Horse,Rathbone Place (Hootenanny Ballads & Blues)
also playing: Martin Windor and John Berry

DC/DG

Sun 26 Jan 1964

Olive Tree Folk & Blues Club

DC

Mon 27 Jan 1964

London Meeting with Shel Talmy & Mike Stone

DC

Fri 31 Jan 1964

Hermitage Hall, Hitchin

DC

Sun 2 Feb 1964

Watford

DC

Fri 7 Feb 1964

Hastings

DC

Sat 8 Feb 1964

Newbury Slim, Weston?

DC

Tue 11 Feb 1964

Crown, Twickenham (Don & Audrey Leatherbarrow)

DC/DG

Wed 12 Feb 1964

Folkvendors, Star & Garter Bromley

DC/DG

Thu 13 Feb 1964

TV audition?

DC

Sat 15 Feb 1964

article in Melody Maker ("Folk Moves In" in the Raver column) on the "folk boom"
"There has been a lot of loose talk about a folk boom. Although I can't see it reaching boom proprtions, there is certainly a growing interest in the field. One pointer is that London's Harold Davison agency has opened a special folk department, which is being handled by singer-promoter Roy Guest. On the books already are the Ian Campbell Folk Group, the Strawberry Hill Boys, Shirley Collins and Alex Campbell ...."

DG

Sat 22 Feb 1964

Newbury Slim, Weston?

DC

Sun 23 Feb 1964

Black Horse, Wembley

DC

Mon 24 Feb 1964

Six Bells, Kings Road, Chelsea
also playing: Roy Guest, Shirley Collins

DC/DG

Fri 28 Feb 1964

Talking John Berry at Tinkers Folk Club, Three Horseshoes, Hampstead

DG

Fri 28 Feb 1964

Southampton

DC

Sat 29 Feb 1964

Newbury Slim Weston?

DC

Sun 8 Mar 1964

Brentwood

DC

Mon 9 Mar 1964

Six Bells, Kings Road,Chelsea
also playing: Roy Guest and Shirley Bland

DC/DG

Tue 10 Mar 1964

Open Folk & Blues, Crown, Twickenham
also playing: Roy Guest, Messengers

DG

Thu 12 Mar 1964

University, Sheffield

DC

Tue 24 Mar 1964

Crown, Twickenham - Friends of Old Timey Music
MM ad entices with "Surprise Guest"

DC/DG

Thu 26 Mar 1964

Starting Gate, Station Road, Wood Green

DC/DG

Sun 29 Mar 1964

Hastings

DC

Tue 31 Mar 1964

Portsmouth

DC

Sat 4 Apr 1964

Library, North Finchley

DC

Sun 5 Apr 1964

Brentwood

DC

Tue 7 Apr 1964

Crown, Twickenham
also playing: Johnny Silvo and The Farriers

DC/DG

Fri 10 Apr 1964

Railway Tavern, Catford
also playing: The Taverners

DC/DG

Thu 16 Apr 1964

Bill Clifton "American bluegrass singer" at Starting Gate, Wood Green

DG

Sun 19 Apr 1964

Brighton Country & Gospel Club

DC

Tue 21 Apr 1964

Crown, Twickenham
also playing Tom, Dick & Harry

DC/DG

Sun 26 Apr 1964

Folk At The Fairfield (no 1), Fairfield Halls, Croydon
also playing: Steve Benbow, Alex Campbell, John Pearse, The Folkvendors, Fitzroy Coleman, the Cumberland Three, the Malcolm Price Trio, Royd Rivers and Cliff Aungier, Linda Drew, Martin Winsor

DC/DG

Tue 28 Apr 1964

Crown, Twickenham
also playing: Malcolm Price/Graham and Lynn McCarthy

DC/DG

Fri 1 May 1964

University, Southampton

DC

Sat 2 May 1964

Alex Campbell, John Berry and Sandy & Jeannie at Hootenanny

DG

Tue 5 May 1964

Crown, Twickenham
also playing: Talking John Berry/Folkvendors

DC/DG

Sat 9 May 1964

University, Nottingham

DC

Tue 12 May 1964

Crown, Twickenham
also playing: Margaret King

DC/DG

Tue 19 May 1964

Crown, Twickenham
also playing: Martin Carthy/North West Three

DC/DG

early Jun 1964

London's first licensed folk club, El Toro, 251 Finchley Road opened

DG

Tue 2 Jun 1964

Queens Head, Chelmsford

DC

Fri 5 Jun 1964

Queens Building, London Airport
first show with John Berry

DC

Tue 9 Jun 1964

Dome Theatre, Brighton
also playing: the Ian Campbell Folk Group, Shirley Collins, Roy Guest, Royd Rivers and Cliff Aungier and the Southern Three

DC/DG

Thu 18 Jun 1964

Arts Festival Bath
MM reportedthis to be the first gig with Talking John Berry on double bass (see 22 Jun below)

DC/DG

Sat 22 Jun 1964

MM article - Talking John Berry joins the Strawberry Hill Boys
"Talking John Berry, who has a 6 tracker EP on Ember 'The talking folk singer' out this month, has joined the SHB on bass. Their first gig was at the Bath Festival this week."

DG

Mon 22 Jun 1964

Leather Bottle, Edgware
also playing: Linda, Martin

DC/DG

Tue 23 Jun 1964

El Toro, Finchley Road

DC

Thu 25 Jun 1964

Parliament Hill Fields, London
also playing : Shirley Collins, John Foreman, Moira Magee

DC/DG

Thu 25 Jun 1964

Talking John Berry at Waggon & Horses, Southgate

DG

Thu 25 Jun 1964

a new "international" Hole In The Ground Folk Club opens on Winchester Road, Swiss Cottage, folk on Weds, with an Israeli evening every Sunday

DG

Fri 26 Jun 1964

Sheffield Arts Festival
also playing: Martin Carthy, Nigel Denver

DC/DG

Fri 26 Jun 1964

Talking John Berry at Railway Tavern, Catford

DG

Fri 26 Jun 1964

Paul Simon at The Tinkers Folk Club, Three Horseshoes, Hampstead

DG

Sat 27 Jun 1964

Paul Simon at The Hole In The Ground

DG

Sat 27 Jun 1964

Coventry

DC

Tue 30 Jun 1964

Crown, Twickenham
also playing: Alex Campbell, Terry Masterson

DC/DG

Wed 1 Jul 1964

Star & Garter, Bromley

DC/DG

Sat 4 Jul 1964

Ipswich (broke down)

DC

Sun 5 Jul 1964

John Berry at Folk At The Fairfield (no 2), Fairfield Halls, Croydon

DG

Tue 7 Jul 1964

Crown, Twickenham

DC

Mon 13 Jul 1964

Talking John Berry at Leather Bottle, Edgware

DG

Tue 14 Jul 1964

Stevenage

DC

Thu 16 Jul 1964

BBC Keep Young recording

DC

Mon 20 Jul 1964

BBC Keep Young broadcast

DC

Wed 29 Jul 1964

Davy Graham and Shirley Collins provide "an unusual musical evening" at the Mercury Theatre

DG

Fri 31 Jul 1964

BBC Steve Benbow Show recording

DC

Fri 31 Jul 1964

Railway Tavern, Catford

DC/DG

Sat 1 Aug 1964

MM article on Talking John Berry

DG

Sun 2 Aug 1964

Hastings

DC

Sat 8 Aug 1964

John Berry plays at Hootenanny along with Martin Windor, Cliff & Royd

DG

Sat 15 Aug 1964

announcement Black Horse Broadside club to close

DG

Sat 8 Aug 1964

announcement that Bill Leader to open second Broadside Club

DG

Sun 30 Aug 1964

Brentwood

DC

Sun 6 Sep 1964

Swanswell Tavern, Coventry

DC

Mon 14 Sep 1964

Edinburgh

DC

Thu 17 Sep 1964

Bob Davenport & The Rakes open a new club at the Fox, Islington

DG

Fri 18 Sep 1964

Redhill

DC

Fri 18 Sep 1964

Clancy Brothers & Tommy Makem UK debut at Fairfield Halls, Croydon

DG

Sun 20 Sep 1964

Enterprise Folk Club, Hampstead
also playing: Tony Gould and The North West Three

DC/DG

Tue 22 Sep 1964

Victoria, Leicester

DC

Thu 24 Sep 1964

Abingdon

DC

Fri 2 Oct 1964

after three weeks in Willesden, Bill Leader's Broadsde Club moves to Cambridge Circus

DG

Wed 14 Oct 1964

Springfield Hotel

DC

Fri 16 Oct 1964

Fulham

DC

Mon 19 Oct 1964

Levy's Sound Studio, New Bond Street - Steve Benbow 'Songs of Ireland' album recording

DC

Tue 20 Oct 1964

Crown, Twickenham

DC

Fri 30 Oct 1964

Hole in the Wall Chichester

DC

Sat 7 Nov 1964

Curly's Club
MM ad gives details as "the Student Prince, D'Arblay Street", midnight onwards

DC/DG

Sat 7 Nov 1964

Announcement that Lester Flatt and Earl Scruggs are set for a UK visit shortly and that they hope to bring the Foggy Mountain Boys with them

DG

Sat 7 Nov 1964

Announcement that Bill Clifton, one of the seven organisers of the US's Newport Folk Festival, becomes an additional resident at The Fox, Islington and joins the EFDSS Folk Advisory Committee

DG

Sat 7 Nov 1964

Announcement that new folk/blues club being run by Les Bridger and Jo-Ann Kelly at the Hole in the Ground, Winchester Road, Swiss Cottage ("under the Felafel cafe")

DG

Sat 7 Nov 1964

Announcement that Gill Cook of Collets bookshop has taken over the Broadside Club at the Scots Hoose

DG

Tue 10 Nov 1964

Troubadour Earls Court

DC

Fri 13 Nov 1964

University of North Wales Bangor

DC

Fri 20 Nov 1964

Pier Pavilion Worthing

DC

Sun 22 Nov 1964

Robin Hood, Potters Bar

DC/DG

Sat 28 Nov 1964

BBC TV Studios Ealing?

DC

Sat 28 Nov 1964

Herga Club, Oxley Pavilion
Meldoy Maker Folk Forum on 19 Dec 1964 commented:
New venture by the Herga Club's John Nunn conbining singing and dancing at the Oxley Pavilion was a roaring success. A big crowd - which was entertained by the British Czech Friendship Dancers with the Herga Singers and Strawberry Hill Boys - responded enthuiastically to the invitation to dance. Another ceilidh takes place on 9 Jan.
The Strawberries arrived at Oxley straight from recording part of a BBC TV documentary to be transmitted in January. Their first album in this capacity is to be released soon in the States and they are to record an LP this month with Roy Guest for release in the New Year.
DG: This would have been the Colour Me Pop TV show, I think.

DC/DG

Sun 6 Dec 1964

Brentwood

DC

Sat 12 Dec 1964

BBC TV recording?(but see note above on 28 Nov, this may have been part 2)

DC/DG

Sat 12 Dec 1964

Black Horse, Rathbone Place (Hootenanny Ballads & Blues)
also playing: Colin & Shirley, Mike Rogers, Pete Dyer

DC/DG

Sat 12 Dec 1964

MM review of Oxley Pavilion show (see 28 Nov above)

DG

Sun 13 Dec 1964

Ealing

DC

Wed 16 Dec 1964

Harrow School of Art, Harrow

DC

Fri 18 Dec 1964

USAF Base, South Ruislip

DC

Sun 20 Dec 1964

Maresfield Gardens Roy Guest 'Cockney Party' album recording

DC

Wed 30 Dec 1964

Assembly Rooms, Surbiton
also playing: Derek Serjeant

DC/DG



Please enable Javascript to view Strawbsweb

. Click on my name to e-mail me.