main page tour dates live reviews and photos news downloads buy albums 45s video books lyrics gallery features history and timeline memorabilia related bands and artists sessions/covers links help using Strawbsweb search site tell a friend book Strawbs get Strawbswebnews join Witchwood change your e-mail Facebook etc


TIMELINE - 1967


Date Event Source

Sun 1 Jan 1967

Enterprise, Hampstead

DC

Wed 4 Jan 1967

Marquee, Wardour Street
believed to be Strawbs' first gig at the Marquee (not listed in the Marquee gig database online or as published in print in London Live

DC/DG

Thu 5 Jan 1967

WB - Sandy Denny

DC/DG

Fri 6 Jan 1967

Chester

DC

Sat 7 Jan 1967

Sports Guild, Manchester

DC

Sun 8 Jan 1967

Royal Festival Hall South Bank
also playing: Robin Hall and Jimmy McGregor, Nadia Cattouse, Theo Johnson, Hanearim. Alfred Marks was the compere of this event which was in support of the West London Young Zionist Society

DC/DG

Thu 12 Jan 1967

Sandy Denny at Folk Centre, Hammersmith

DG

Thu 12 Jan 1967

WB - Strawbs billed at White Bear Hounslow

DC/DG

Sat 14 Jan 1967

Sandy Denny at Central Hotel, East Ham

DG

Sat 14 Jan 1967

Troubadour, Earls Court

DC/DG

Sun 15 Jan 1967

Studes Drum

DC

Mon 16 Jan 1967

Orpington Folk Club, Orpington

DC/DG

Tue 17 Jan 1967

Golborne????

DC

Thu 19 Jan 1967

WB - Malcolm Price and Strawbs

DC/DG

Fri 20 Jan 1967

Town Hall, Battersea
also playing: Ian Campbell, Jacqui & Bridie

DC/DG

Sun 22 Jan 1967

Studes Drum
also playing: The Settlers, The Newby

DC/DG

Tue 24 Jan 1967

Les Cousins, Greek Street

DC

Thu 26 Jan 1967

WB - White Bear Mike Absalom??
MM lists as "Mike Munnelly"

DC/DG

Fri 27 Jan 1967

Les Cousins Greek Street All night DC solo
MM ad for same night late show for Strawberry Hill Boys (11.30-6am - Jacqui McShee & John Renbourn were in the earlier 7.30 slot) - Troubadour ad claimed "for excellent entertainment" - may be DC did early at Greek Street and legged it nto the Troubadour ?

DC/DG

Thu 2 Feb 1967

WB - The Newby

DC/DG

Sun 5 Feb 1967

Castle Swindon

DC

Thu 9 Feb 1967

WB - Steve Bromfield

DC

Tue 15 Feb 1967

Birmingham

DC

Thu 16 Feb 1967

Digby Stuart???

DC

Thu 16 Feb 1967

WB - Gants Hill Ramblers

DG

Sat 18 Feb 1967

Bristol

DC

Sun 19 Feb 1967

Bath

DC

Tue 21 Feb 1967

BBC World Service Strawberry Hill Boys Sing and Play Folk Songs with Sandy Denny: "Blues Run the Game", "On My Way", "Stay Awhile With Me", "Pretty Polly", "Tell Me What You See In Me"

DC

Thu 23 Feb 1967

WB - ???

DC

Fri 24 Feb 1967

Les Cousins, Greek Street (7.30-11.00)

DC/DG

Tue 28 Feb 1967

Nottingham

DC

Thu 2 Mar 1967

WB - Dave Travis

DC/DG

Fri 3 Mar 1967

Sandy Denny???

DC

Sun 5 Mar 1967

Chelmsford

DC

Thu 9 Mar 1967

WB - ???

DC

Thu 9 Mar 1967

Five Proud Walkers at John Cass college

DG

Fri 10 Mar 1967

Five Proud Walkers at Ealing Tech AND Majons College

DG

Fri 10 Mar 1967

Greyhound Fulham, Palace Road

DC

Sat 11 Mar 1967

Five Proud Walkers at LSE AND Banbury

DG

Sun 12 Mar 1967

Brentwood

DC

Sun Mar 1967

Five Proud Walkers at Eel Pie Island

DG

Mon 13 Mar 1967

Dimbleby Cancer Fund benefit at Queen Mary College
MM piece in Sat 11 Mar issue: "Alex Campbell heads the bill at a concert in aid of the Dimbleby Cancer Fund at Queen Mary College. With him are Johnny Silvo, Dorris Henderson, Sandy Denny, and the Strawberry Hill Boys.... Sandy Denny has just recorded her third programme for BBC overseas service."

DC

Tue 14 Mar 1967

Five Proud Walkers at Manchester University

DG

Wed 15 Mar 1967

Ealing

DC

Thu 16 Mar 1967

WB - Mike Munnelly, Hilary Moody

DG

Sat 18 Mar 1967

Record with Dave Travis East Putney Tony Pyke Studio

DC

Sun 19 Mar 1967

Sandy Denny at the Troubadour

DG

Thu 23 Mar 1967

Folk Club Addlesham???

DC

Thu 23 Mar 1967

WB - ???

DG

Fri 24 Mar 1967

Isle of Wight

DC

Fri 24 Mar 1967

Sandy Denny at Rotterdam CND Good Friday rally

DG

Fri 24 Mar 1967

Sandy Denny at Committee of 100 show at Hampstead Roundhouse

DG

Mon 27 Mar 1967

Colchester

DC

Thu 30 Mar 1967

Guernsey

DC

Fri 31 Mar 1967

Sandy Denny at Les Cousins, Greek Street (7.30-11.00)

DG

Fri 31 Mar 1967

Green Ginger

DC

Sat 1 Apr 1967

Troubadour, Earls Court

DC

Thu 6 Apr 1967

Dukes Head, Addlestone
also playing: Phil Sears

DC/DG

Sun 9 Apr 1967

Troubadour, Earls Court

DC

Sun 9 Apr 1967

Sandy Denny at Enterprise Folk Club, Hampstead

DG

Tue 11 Apr 1967

Crown, Twickenham

DC

Thu 13 Apr 1967

WB - Brian Mooney

DG

Sat 15 Apr 1967

MM Ad "Book the Velvet Opera, something new in pop music" though NB London City Agency ad still refers to Five Proud Walkers

DG

Sun 16 Apr 1967

Swindon

DC

Mon 17 Apr 1967

Broadside, Birmingham

DC

Thu 20 Apr 1967

Norwich

DC

Sat 22 Apr 1967

Brighton

DC

Thu 27 Apr 1967

WB - Mike Absalom, Tom Browne, The Newby and Strawbs

DC/DG

Fri 28 Apr 1967

Sandy Denny at the Central Hotel, Barking Road, East Ham

DG

Sun 30 Apr 1967

Bristol

DC

Wed 3 May 1967

Norfolk Arms, North Wembley

DC

Wed 3 May 1967

Sandy Denny at Holy Ground, Bayswater (ad misprints as "Sandy Denning")

DG

Thu 4 May 1967

WB

DC

Sun 7 May 1967

Hampstead
listed as "Strawberry Hill Boys"

DC/DG

Tue 9 May 1967

Crown, Twickenham

DC

Wed 10 May 1967

Rehearse with Sandy Denny

DC

Thu 11 May 1967

WB - The Newby, The Honest John Three, Brian Golbey (no Strawbs)

DG

Thu 11 May 1967

Railway Inn Abingdon

DC

Fri 12 May 1967

Billericay

DC

Sat 13 May 1967

Troubadour Earls Court

DC

Thu 18 May 1967

WB - White Bear Hounslow Trevor Lucas

DC

Fri 19 May 1967

Hoddesden

DC

Thu 23 May 1967

Hemel Hempstead ???

DC

Thu 23 May 1967

WB - Sandy Denny, Brian Golbey (no mention of Strawbs)

DG

Thu 23 May 1967

Barnet & Whetstone ???

DC

Sat 27 May 1967

Troubadour, Earls Court
with Bill Clifton

DC

Sun 28 May 1967

Hemel Hempstead
with Bill Clifton???

DC

Sat 3 Jun 1967

Bill Clifton farewell party (with Bill Monroe and others including the Strawberry Hill Boys) - see Sat 11 Jun note below

DG

Sat 10 Jun 1967

Newark

DC

Sun 11 Jun 1967

MM piece by Karl Dallas
"Bill Clifton's farewell party was held at his home in Sevenoaks all day Sunday (would have been previous Sunday, ie Sun 3 Jun). Bill was off to join the Peace Corps in Manila. All branches of the revival went .. the bluegrass boys were there in force, of course ....
Banjoist Dave Cousins of the Strawberry Hill Boys told me his group must be considered an ex-bluegrass group now, since they are playing mostly contemporary material written by themselves. They are including a few bluegrass instrumentals but that is all, and the group is now to be known as the Strawbs."

DC/DG

Wed 14 Jun 1967

Meet Ron Chesterman???

DC

Wed 14 Jun 1967

Marquee,Wardour Street
not listed on Marquee online gig calendar

DC

Thu 15 Jun 1967

Greyhound, Fulham Palace Road

DC

Fri 16 Jun 1967

St Osyth's College Clacton on Sea

DC

Sat 17 Jun 1967

College, Marlborough

DC

Sun 18 Jun 1967

Sandy Denny at Steve Benbow Folk Club, Norbury Hotel, Norbury

DG

Thu 22 Jun 1967

Rehearse with Sandy Denny

DC

Sat 24 Jun 1967

Maximum Sound Old Kent Road Record???

DC

Tue 27 Jan 1967

Five Proud Walkers at Royalty Ballroom, Southgate

DG

Fri 30 Jun 1967

Chandlers Ford

DC

Sat 1 Jul 1967

MM ad: "Elmer Gantry's Velvet Opera gives a man meal appeal"

DG

Jul 1967 onwards

Amen Courner embark on 30 date UK tour - 1 day recording, 1 day rest, otherwise gigging every night

DG

Wed 5 Jul 1967

Holy Ground, Bayswater
also playing: Mike Absalom, Joanna Wheatley

DC/DG

Thu 6 Jul 1967

Rehearse with Sandy Denny

DC

Sat 1 Jul 1967

MM ad: "Elmer Gantry's Velvet Opera is good for you"

DG

Sat 8 Jul 1967

Queens Head, Harlow

DC

Fri 14 Jul 1967

Les Cousins Greek Street (11.30-6am)

DC/DG

Sat 1 Jul 1967

MM ad: "Elmer Gantry's Velvet Opera with the less fattening centres"

DG

Sun 16 Jul 1967

Rehearse with Sandy Denny

DC

Sun 16 Jul 1967

"Miss Sandy Denny" at the Troubadour

DG

Tue 18 Jul 1967

BBC Piccadilly 1

DC

Wed 19 Jul 1967

Rehearse with Sandy Denny

DC

Thu 20 Jul 1967

Leave for Denmark

DC

Mon 24 Jul 1967

Vise Versa Hus Tivoli Gardens Sandy and the Strawbs

DC

Tue 25 Jul 1967

Danmarks Radio TV show Sandy and the Strawbs

DC

Tue 25 Jul 1967

Vise Versa Hus Tivoli Gardens Sandy and the Strawbs

DC

Wed 26 Jul 1967

Vise Versa Hus Tivoli Gardens Sandy and the Strawbs

DC

Thu 27 Jul 1967

Vise Versa Hus Tivoli Gardens Sandy and the Strawbs

DC

Fri 28 Jul 1967

Vise Versa Hus Tivoli Gardens Sandy and the Strawbs

DC

Sat 29 Jul 1967

Vise Versa Hus Tivoli Gardens Sandy and the Strawbs

DC

Sat 29 Aug 1967

Karl Dallas MM review of Alex Campbell & Friends album:
".. he introduced some other singers from the Sandy Glennon stable .. Johnny Silvo, Paul McNeill, a surprisingly sweet Cliff Aungier and Sandy Denny
... Sandy has always been a promising singer and in her three tracks on this she begins to fulfil that promise. Her voice has authority and she seems to have a good idea what to do with it. She doesn't quite belt it out as much as she is wont to do in the flesh, but it's still a fantastic voice. The sleeve notes quote some kind words I wrote about Sandy a while ago and I don't have to revise them one little bit on this showing. Of course it's not a very deep record, and it's in the nature of things that the songs shouldn't be presented with much depth either. That's OK most of the time, but Sandy's version of The False Bride ... lacks some of the feeling I know she could put into it. What I'm really looking forward to is her first album."

DG

Sat 29 Aug 1967

Elmer Gantry's Velvet Opera at Electric Garden, 43 King Street, Covent Garden (later became Middle Earth); also on the bill - Fairport Convention

DG

Sat 29 Aug 1967

ad: "Elmer Gantry's Velvet Opera little darlings"

DG

Sun 6 Aug 1967

Return from Denmark

DC

Sun 13 Aug 1967

Record Caedmon??? Phillips Studio

DC

Wed 16 Jul 1967

Sandy Denny at Surbiton Assembly Rooms, with Derek Serjeant, John Frazer

DG

Sun 20 Aug 1967

Record Caedmon??? Phillips Studio

DC

Wed 23 Aug 1967

Richmond

DC

Fri 25 Aug 1967

Les Cousins Greek Street (11.30-6am) plus guests
first MM ad reference to "Strawbs" otherthan at White Bear

DC/DG

Sat 26 Aug 1967

Harlow

DC

Wed 30 Aug 1967

Camberley

DC

Sat 2 Sep 1967

Troubadour, Earls Court (10.30)

DC/DG

Thu 21 Sep 1967

Strawbs plus Punchbowl Three and guests at Doghouse, Greyhound, Fulham Palace Road.
Thought to be the legendary Geyhound gig with Sandy Denny

DG

Fri 15 Sep 1967

Chester

DC

Sun 17 Sep 1967

Wallasey

DC

Sat 23 Sep 1967

MM piece about Sandy Denny:
"Funny the way that folk singers never seem to be satisfied with what they are. Take the case of young Sandy Denny, the small girl with the big beautiful voice, who was such a hit on Alex Campbell's recent 'And His Friends' album that he invited her up to be on his TV show.
Sandy played me some tapes of an album she made in Copenhagen with the Strawbs, curled up in an armchair looking like a blonde and cuddly kitten and said quietly: 'Of course, what I really want to sing is jazz."
Though she has a sense of timing many would-be jazz singers would envy, which makes even the most tired old overdone folk lyric sound fresh and new, the pop styled things she does on this new album certainly swing, so I was beginning to see her point.
Then came her only solo track. Accompanied only by her own very individual guitar, she sang a song of her own composition so simply and sincerely that it seemed that this is just what she should be doing ....."
"... she is always looking for new material and has started writing songs herself. 'I'm collecting material together for my first solo album. I want it to really represent what I'm trying to do."

DG

Sun 24 Sep 1967

Castle Hotel, Swindon

DC

Fri 29 Sep 1967

Chandlers Ford

DC

Sun 1 Oct 1967

Egham

DC

Fri 6 Oct 1967

Sandy Denny at Les Cousins, Greek Street

DG

Sat 7 Oct 1967

Troubadour, Bristol

DC

Tue 10 Oct 1967

Colchester

DC

Fri 13 Oct 1967

Portsmouth

DC

Fri 13 Oct 1967

Sandy Denny at Central Hotel, East Ham
also playing: Noel Murphy, John Renbourn - ad comments: "A first together at any club (normal prices)"

DG

Fri 13 Oct 1967

UFO at the Roundhouse closed

DG

Sun 15 Oct 1967

Starting Gate, Wood Green

DC/DG

Fri 3 Nov 1967

Sandy Denny at La Bastille, 134 Wardour Street
Linda Peters (later Linda Thompson) and Paul McNeill residents

DG

Sun 5 Nov 1967

Sandy Denny at Steve Benbow Folk Club, Norbury

DG

Tue 7 Nov 1967

Crown, Twickenham

DC

Fri 17 Nov 1967

University, Nottingham

DC

Sat 18 Nov 1967

Cambridge

DC

Sat Nov 1967

Sandy Denny at the Doghouse, Greyhound, Fulham Place Road

DG

Sun 19 Nov 1967

Nags Head, Battersea

DC/DG

Mon 20 Nov 1967

"Folksville", Half Moon, Putney

DC/DG

Wed 22 Nov 1967

Wormwood Scrubs Prison - show for long term prisoners

DC

Wed 22 Nov 1967

Sandy Denny plays at the opening night of the new Coach & Horses club at Kew Green

DG

Sat 25 Nov 1967

King Lud

DC

Tue 28 Nov 1967

Arts Lab (AL) - Spencer Davis???

DC

Fri 1 Dec 1967

Chalfont St Giles

DC

Sun 3 Dec 1967

Sandy Denny at the Nags Head, Battersea

DG

Sun 3 Dec 1967

Railway, Brentwood with Sonja Kristina

DC

Wed 6 Dec 1967

Denmark

DC

Thu 7 Dec 1967

Denmark

DC

Thu 7 Dec 1967

WB: Ad announces "Re-opening of the White Bear" - Mike 'Mighty' Absalom - Residents, Dave Cousins, Chas Upton - it may be that Dave was unable to appear, or that this was a general statement that, nomally, Dave would be a regular resident

DG

Fri 8 Dec 1967

Denmark

DC

Sat 9 Dec 1967

Troubadour Bristol

DC

Sun 10 Dec 1967

Norbury Hotel Norbury Steve Benbow's Club

DC

Thu 14 Dec 1967

Greyhound Fulham Palace Road
also appearing: Noel Murphy

DC/DG

Thu 14 Dec 1967

WB: Taverners, Dave Cousins and Chas Upton (DC may have been absent)

DG

Fri 15 Dec 1967

Sandy Denny at Les Cousins (7.30-11.00)

DG

Sun 17 Dec 1967

Troubadour, Earls Court (9.30)

DC/DG

Sun 17 Dec 1967

Sandy Denny, together with Alexis Korner and Wizz Jones at the Horseshoe, Tottenham Court Road

DG

Tue 19 Dec 1967

RAF Wyton

DC

Thu 21 Dec 1967

WB - Jeremy Taylor, Dave Cousins (?) and Chas Upton

DG

Fri 22 Dec 1967

Isle of Wight

DC

Sun 31 Dec 1967

Colchester

DC



Please enable Javascript to view Strawbsweb

. Click on my name to e-mail me.