main page tour dates live reviews and photos news downloads buy albums 45s video books lyrics gallery features history and timeline memorabilia related bands and artists sessions/covers links help using Strawbsweb search site tell a friend book Strawbs get Strawbswebnews join Witchwood change your e-mail Facebook etc


TIMELINE - 1971


Date Event Source

Sat 2 Jan 1971

Guildford (reviewed by Jerry Gilbert in Sounds, 9 Jan)

DC/DG

Thu 7 Jan 1971

WB - Dana Scott

DC

Sat 9 Jan 1971

Gliderdrome, Boston

DC

Sat 9 Thu 1971

Review of Guildford show in Sounds

DG

Thu 14 Jan 1971

WB - Jeremy Taylor

DC

Thu 14 Jan 1971

Wyvern Theatre, Swindon, (first time pyro)

DC

Fri 15 Jan 1971

Slough
review in Slough Oserver dated 22 Jan 1971. Also playing: Tom Houlihan

DC/DG

Sat 16 Jan 1971

UEA, Norwich (Rick hospital)

DC

Mon 18 Jan 1971

Recording Air Studios, Witchwood

DC

Tue 19 Jan 1971

Recording Air Studios, Witchwood

DC

Wed 20 Jan 1971

Recording Air Studios, Witchwood

DC

Thu 21 Jan 1971

Depart for Holland

DG

Thu 21 Jan 1971

WB - Steve Benbow/Denny Wright

DC

??? Jan 1971

Paradiso Club, Amsterdam, Rick sprains ankle

DC

Fri 22 Jan 1971

Eland, Delft

DG

Sat 23 Jan 1971

Electric Center, Haarlem

DG

Sat 23 Jan 1971

MM Raver column announces Fairport/Strawbs drinking contest

DG

Wed 27 Jan 1971

Exit Club, Rotterdam

DG

Thu 28 Jan 1971

WB - Singers night

DC

Fri 29 Jan 1971

Paradiso Club, Amsterdam

DG

Sat 30 Jan 1971

Paradiso Club, Amsterdam

DG

Sat 30 Jan 1971

MM review of gigs on Dutch tour, Eland Delft (first gig on the tour), Electric Centre, Haarlem

DG

Mon 1 Feb 1971

VARA Television, Hilversum

DG

Tue 2 Feb 1971

Return from Holland

DC

Thu 4 Feb 1971

WB - Mike Absalom

DC

Fri 5 Feb 1971

Recording Air Studios, Witchwood

DC

Sat 6 Feb 1971

Lancaster/Lanchester Festival - Andrew Means review in MM dated 13 Feb 1971
also playing: Mr Fox and Ralph McTell

DC/DG

Wed 10 Feb 1971

Big Apple, Brighton

DC

Thu 11 Feb 1971

WB - Foggy Dew O

DC

Fri 12 Feb 1971

Meet Tom Allom/rehearse

DC

Sat 13 Feb 1971

Durham

DC

Sun 14 Feb 1971

Bowes Lyon, Stevenage

DC

Mon 15 Feb 1971

Recording, Witchwood

DC

Tue 16 Feb 1971

Recording, Witchwood

DC

Wed 17 Feb 1971

High Wycombe

DC

Thu 18 Feb 1971

WB - Don Partridge

DC

Thu 18 Feb 1971

Recording, Witchwood

DC

Fri 20 Feb 1971

Sheffield

DC

Mon 22 Feb 1971

Oxford

DC

Thu 25 Feb 1971

WB - Tight Like That

DC

Thu 25 Feb 1971

Air Studios, Mixing

DC

Thu 25 Feb 1971

piece in Acton Gazette about Rick's Arts Lab at the White Hart pub, High Street - meets every Weds (no Lab next week as Stawbs are playing at Ealing. On Wed 10 Mar the lab will host the Strawbs drinking concert with Fairport, in aid of charity

DG

Fri 26 Feb 1971

Polytechnic, Leeds

DC

Sat 27 Feb 1971

Reading

DC

Mon 1 Mar 1971

Air London, Mixing

DC

Wed 3 Mar 1971

Town Hall, Ealing

DC

Thu 4 Mar 1971

WB - Gnome Sweet Gnome

DC

Fri 5 Mar 1971

Melody Rooms, Norwich

DC

Sat 6 Mar 1971

Recording, Witchwood

DC

Sat 6 Mar 1971

press announcement that Strawbs would support Neil Young on a US tour; next single would be "I'll Carry On BesideYou" with We'll Meet Again Sometime/Keep The Devil Outside on the B-side; release date to be 26 Mar. (Subsequently DC in the Sounds Talk-In suggested that "From the Witchwood" was not felt to be the right album to address the US with, so their US debut was postponed until the following year)

DG

Wed 10 Mar 1971

Recording, Witchwood

DC

Wed 10 Mar 1971

Strawbs/Fairport drinking context, Arts Lab, White Hart, Acton

DG

Thu 11 Mar 1971

WB - Gasworks, Gnome Sweet Gnome

DC

Fri 12 Mar 1971

Flamingo Ballroom, Hereford

DC

Sat 13 Mar 1971

Regent Street Polytechnic, London

DC

Mon 15 Mar 1971

Marc Bolan, Radio Luxembourg, Beat Guest (My Top Ten)

DC

Thu 17 Mar 1971

WB - Derek Brimstone

DC

Thu 17 Mar 1971

Abbey Theatre, Wexford (Wexford Festival)
also playing: Danny Doyle, Johnstons, Southern Comfort, Dr. Strangely Strange, Fairport, Curved Air, The Chieftains, Mellow Candle, Tir Na Nog, Principal Edwards' Magic Theatre
review by Andrew Means in MM 3 Apr 1971

DC/DG

Fri 19 Mar 1971

Winter Gardens, Bournemouth

DC

Sat 20 Mar 1971

Air London mixing

DC

Sat 20 Mar 1971

Roy Hollingworth interview with Hud in MM

DG

Sat 20 Mar 1971

Record Mirror piece promoting Wakeman's Arts Lab talent contest on Apr 14

DG

Sun 21 Mar 1971

Air London mixing

DC

Mon 22 Mar 1971

Ian Campbell, Radio Luxembourg, Beat Guest My Top Ten

DC

Tue 23 Mar 1971

Beat Instrumental interview/photo

DC

Thu 25 Mar 1971

WB - Pigsty Hill

DC

Thu 25 Mar 1971

Blimp Club, Parker Street, Liverpool

DC

Thu 25 Mar 1971

piece in Middlesex Advertiser about Apostrophe, supporting Strawbs and Bonzos on 5 May. Picture of the young band and the poster: also playing: Tight Like That

DG

Fri 26 Mar 1971

College of Technology, Luton
according to the Jerry Gilbert interview with DC in the 24 Apr edition of Sounds - after four numbers, DC sent the rest of the band offstage, then did one song on his own and went off. He explained "[the Witchwood album] took an awful lot ot of me .. half the numbers were not worked out properly and there were a lot of conflicting ideas ... ...everything had got on top of me"

DC/DG

Sat 27 Mar 1971

MM Q&A: Rick reveals the components of "Temperament Of Mind"

DG

Mon 29 Mar 1971

Trent Park College, DC/Dave Lambert duo

DC

Thu 1 Apr 1971

WB - Noel Murphy

DC

Thu 1 Apr 1971

Leave for Scotland

DC

Fri 2 Apr 1971

Osprey Rooms, Aviemore

DC/DG

Sat 3 Apr 1971

Olympia Ballroom, East Kilbride

DC/DG

Sat 3 Apr 1971

Andrew Means MM review of Wexford Festival

DG

Sat 3 Apr 1971

Record Mirror announces that From The Witchwood will be released on 1 May. After the current UK tour, there will be some dates in Germany

DG

Sat 3 ??? Apr 1971

announcement that "Witchwood" single (replacing previously announced "I'll Carry On Beside You") had been withdrawn after sending out review copies: record had been recorded at half-volume. Decided to withdraw completely as would clash with release of new album in May. In fact some non promo copies did "escape"

DG

Sat 3 Apr 1971

Record Mirror announces that From The Witchwood will be released on 1 May. After the current UK tour, there will be some dates in Germany

DG

Sun 4 Apr 1971

Kinema Ballroom, Dunfermline

DC

Sat 10 Apr 1971

Gliderdrome, Boston

DC

Sat 10 Apr 1971

John Gibson's MM review of Kinema Ballroom, Dunfermline gig

DG

Mon 12 Apr 1971

John Williams concert at Festival Hall

DG

Wed 14 Apr 1971

Talent contest at Rick Wakeman's Folk/Arts Lab, White Hart, Acton

DG

Fri 16 Apr 1971

Fairfield Hall, Croydon
also playing: Brake and Crane
reviewed in Coulsdon Advertiser 23 Apr 1971

DC/DG

Sat 17 Apr 1971

Barnsley

DC

Sun 18 Apr 1971

Green's Playhouse, Glasgow, Brake and Crane

DC/DG

Mon 19 Apr 1971

Caley Cinema, Edinburgh, Brake and Crane

DC/DG

Tue 20 Apr 1971

Town Hall, Birmingham, Brake and Crane

DC/DG

Wed 21 Apr 1971

De Montfort Hall, Leicester, Brake and Crane

DC/DG

Thu 22 Apr 1971

Guildhall, Portsmouth, Brake and Crane

DC/DG

Fri 23 Apr 1971

Civic Hall, Guildford, Brake and Crane

DC/DG

Fri 23 Apr 1971

Coulsdon Advertiser review of Fairfield Halls show with Brake & Crane

DG

Sat 24 Apr 1971

Philharmonic Hall, Liverpool, Brake and Crane

DC/DG

Sat 24 Apr 1971

Jerry Gilbert interview with DC in Sounds

DG

Sat 24 Apr 1971

Bill McAllister interview with Hud and John in Record Mirror

DG

Sun 25 Apr 1971

City Hall, Newcastle, Brake and Crane

DC/DG

Mon 26 Apr 1971

Albert Hall, Nottingham, Brake and Crane

DC/DG

Tue 27 Apr 1971

York

DC

Wed 28 Apr 1971

Town Hall, Leeds, Brake and Crane

DC/DG

Thu 29 Apr 1971

WB - Bridget St John

DC

Thu 29 Apr 1971

Blackpool

DC

Fri 30 Apr 1971

Free Trade Hall, Manchester, Brake and Crane

DC/DG

Sat 1 May 1971

Exeter

DC

Tue 4 May 1971

Gig with Dave Lambert, Isleworth Polytechnic

DC/DG

Wed 5 May 1971

Regal Cinema, Uxbridge

DC/DG

Thu 6 May 1971

WB - The Heathsiders

DC

Sun 9 May 1971

Lyceum, London

DC/DG

Tue 11 May 1971

Meet Sandy Denny

DC

Thu 13 May 1971

WB - Mike Absalom

DC

Fri 14 May 1971

Cardiff University

DC/DG

Sat 15 May 1971

Rehearse with Mary Hopkin

DC

Sun 16 May 1971

Woodville Hall, Gravesend

DC

Mon 17 May 1971

Meet Beaverbrook Commercial Broadcasting, Terry Bate

DC

Mon 17 May 1971

Mix Air London, Single

DC

Tue 18 May 1971

Mix Air London

DC

Tue 18??? May 1971

Mark Plummer MM review of Cousins Lambert gig on 4 May at Isleworth Polytechnic

DG

Wed 19 May 1971

Gig with Dave Lambert, Ealing

DC

Thu 20 May 1971

WB - Tight Like That

DC

Thu 20 May 1971

Trinity College, Carmarthen

DC/DG

Fri 21 May 1971

Students Union, University of Sheffield

DC/DG

Sat 22 May 1971

Go to caravan in West Country

DC

Sun 23 May 1971

Plymouth

DC

Thu 27 May 1971

WB - Joe Stead

DC

Thu 27 May 1971

Civic Hall, Wolverhampton

DC/DG

Fri 28 May 1971

Music Hall, Shrewsbury

DC/DG

Sat 29 May 1971

Oxford ?? (see below)

DC

Sat 29 May 1971

QE Hall gig - Strawbs on at 6.15pm, Steeleye Span play at 9.00pm

DC/DG

Sat 29 May 1971

Arnakata itinterary states that Strawbs also played Pembroke College Oxford as well on this date, presumably a late gig

DG

Sat 29 May 1971

MM has advice on how to be a roadie, by Dickie Bell

DG

Sat 29 May 1971

Sounds review by Jerry Gilbert of "From The Witchwood" ("Disjointed") and Mark Plummer in MM ("Cream Of The Strawbs")

DG

late May 1971

Mark Plummer of MM interviews Rick

DG

Thu 3 Jun 1971

WB - Jon Isherwood

DC

Sat 5 Jun 1971

David Hughes interviews Rick

DG

Thu 10 Jun 1971

WB - Heron

DC

Thu 17 Jun 1971

WB - Noel Murphy/Bartram & Coverdale

DC

Sat 19 Jun 1971

Ron Chesterman wedding

DC

Mon 21 Jun 1971

DC appears at Glastonbury Festival solo. The Man Who Called Himself Jesus

DC/DG

Wed 23 Jun 1971

Record Top of the Pops

DC

Thu 24 Jun 1971

Meet Brian Lane ???, Rick leaves band

DC

Fri 25 Jun 1971

Meet Mike Dolan

DC

Mon 30 Jun 1971

Ralph McTell on TV

DC

Thu 1 Jul 1971

Top Of The Pops transmission, Strawbs play "Hangman" on album slot

DC/DG

Thu 1 Jul 1971

BBC Sound of the 70s, Record, Hangman/Sheep/Witchwood

DC

Sat 3 Jul 1971

Lyceum, Edinburgh

DC

Sat 3 Jul 1971

BBC Sound of the 70s transmission

DC

Mon 5 Jul 1971

Air London mix Jesus, For Choice ???

DC

Mon 5 Jul 1971

Meet Davey Johnston, Gibson LG1 with case

DC

Mon 5 Jul 1971

Strawberry Hill Boys, Colin Scot (with Jo Partridge) at the Hop Poles, Enfield
owing to a mix-up both acts turned up on 5 Jul 1971, and agreed to share the gig and the gig the following week as well (see 12 Jul below).

DG/PB

Thu 8 Jul 1971

WB - Skyport Ade

DC

Fri 9 Jul 1971

From The Witchwood album released

DC

Mon 12 Jul 1971

Strawberry Hill Boys, Colin Scot (with Jo Partridge) at the Hop Poles, Enfield
The second of the two shared gigs (see 5 Jul above) - Dave Lambert was there as well. The SHBs played some old fashioned bluegrass for a change including "When You Wore A Tulip", which they reprised for their BBC In Concert show, probably the last time Rick played live with them. Dave Cousins offered up an early solo outing for "Queen Of Dreams".

DG/PB

Thu 15 Jul 1971

WB - Malcom Price

DC

Fri 16 Jul 1971

BBC Maida vale 4 2.00 4.30

DC

Fri 16 Jul 1971

Rehearse with Mary Travers, 595 Park West, 5.30

DC

Sat 17 Jul 1971

Film Mary Travers, Lime Grove

DC

Sun 18 Jul 1971

BBC TV Centre, Studio 1, Shepherds Bush - BBC In Concert (transmission date ?)

DC

Mon 19 Jul 1971

Mary Travers 12.00 2.00

DC

Wed 21 Jul 1971

Johnny Joyce, Margate, ????

DC

31?? Jul 1971

Rick Wakeman leaves the Strawbs to join Yes (Goldmine article by Frank Jarvis)

DG

early Aug 1971

DC goes to his caravan in Devon, writes "Benedictus"

DC

Thu 22 Jul 1971

WB - Gypsy Moses

DC

Thu 5 Aug 1971

WB - Joe Stead

DC

Aug 1971

Audition Blue Weaver, Hounslow

DC

Aug 1971

Rehearse with Blue Weaver

DC

Aug 1971

Write in cottage, Devon, Tomorrow

DC

Aug 1971

Visit The Pit Club, Devon (scene of "Blue Angel") and meet Sarah

DC

Mon 20 Sep 1971

Cat Stevens, Radio Luxembourg, Beat Guest

DC

Sun 26 Sep 1971

Frank Freeman's, Kidderminster

DC

Fri 1 Oct 1971

University, Nottingham

DC

Sun 3 Oct 1971

University, Warwick

DC

Tue 5 Oct 1971

Meet Trevor Lucas

DC

Thu 7 Oct 1971

Mary Hopkin, Beat Guest

DC

Thu 14 Oct 1971

Rehearse for session, Tony Visconti

DC

Fri 15 Oct 1971

Record "Benedictus", Island Studios, Tony Visconti

DC

Thu 21 Oct 1971

Plymouth

DC

Mon 25 Oct 1971

BBC Maida Vale 4

DC

Wed 27 Oct 1971

BBC Maida Vale 5

DC

Sat 30 Oct 1971

University, Manchester

DC

Sun 31 Oct 1971

Shaw Theatre, London, Blue Weaver debut
also playing: Jonathan Kelly. Featured a ballerina and mime artist Tony Crerar; along with unrecorded song "Morning Song" and an unrecorded band version of "Heavy Disguise". Guests were handed a printed poster/lyric sheet by way of a program.

DC/DG/PB

Wed 10 Nov 1971

Newport

DC

Mon 15 Nov 1971

Record Grave New World, Morgan Studios, Tom Allom

DC

Mon 15 Nov 1971

Call Tony Visconti - T Rex "Get It On/Hot Love" were already hits

DC

Fri 19 Nov 1971

Record, Morgan

DC

Sat 27 Nov 1971

Belfry

DC

Mon 6 Dec 1971

Southampton

DC

Tue 7 Dec 1971

Record, Morgan Studios

DC

Sat 11 Dec 1971

"Blue skies for the Strawbs" MM article by Mark Plummer in the studio with the band, talking mainly to Hud and new boy Blue

DG

late Dec 1971

DC headed to cottage to wind down. Sent Sarah Charles a Christmas card hand written - "Sarah the Horse"

DC



Please enable Javascript to view Strawbsweb

. Click on my name to e-mail me.