main ● newly added ● upcoming gigs ● live reviews ● news ●
albums ● 45s ● video ● books ● lyrics ●
galleries ● features ● interviews ● tributes ● memorabilia ● timeline/history ● downloads ●
related artists ● sessions/covers ● links ●
Strawbswebnews ● Facebook ● help ● search site ● book Strawbs ●

Dick Greener
click logo or select item
to close menu


Dick Greener

click logo to open menu


Nomadness cover

Release date: Sep 1975. (Strong's Great Rock Discography lists as Nov 1975.)

What was to be the Strawbs' last studio album for A&M Records saw them turn away from the big keyboard sound that had characterised the last few albums (they'd just lost John Hawken who was not replaced by a full-time keyboard player - Andy Richards - until 1978) and adopt a lighter touch. There's no focal point, no epic as with previous offerings. Nevertheless, although perhaps a little disjointed, Nomadness is full of different shades and textures - Cousins even picked up the dulcimer again for "The Golden Salamander" and there are a few classic Strawbs tracks which deserve more prominence - "Hanging In The Gallery" in particular.

Various keyboard players guested, including a returning Rick Wakeman, who played on "Tokyo Rosie" (in various stages of undress so we are told), and jazz pianist John Mealing who later became one of the two permanent session men with Robert Kirby for the Oyster period.

The album did far less well in the US than the previous two, possibly A&M losing interest owing to the band's imminent departure (there was no real attempt at a single - "Little Sleepy", a good Lambert rocker, was released in the US and Portugal).

The Universal re-issue of this (release date: 5 Aug 2008) contains two bonus tracks - see reviews page for more details.


Dave Cousins (vcls, ac gtrs, dulc, bnjo)
Dave Lambert (vcls, el/ac gtrs)
Chas Cronk (bs, vcls)
Rod Coombes (drms, ac gtr, vcls)

Rick Wakeman (el harpsichord)
John Mealing (org, el pno, pno)
Jack Emblow (accordian)
Tom Allom (cymbalum)
Tony Carr (congas)
Tommy Eyre (pno, clavinet, synth)
John Lumley-Savile (synth)

Track listing

  1. To Be Free (Cousins)
  2. Little Sleepy (Lambert)
  3. The Golden Salamander (Cousins)
  4. Absent Friend (How I Need You) (Cousins)
  5. Back On The Farm (Cousins)

  6. So Shall Our Love Die (Cousins)
  7. Tokyo Rosie (Cousins)
  8. A Mind Of My Own (Coombes)
  9. Hanging In The Gallery (Cousins)
  10. The Promised Land (Cronk)

Bonus tracks, Universal CD release 2008 and Universal Japan 2019 SHM CD release

  • Still Small Voice (Cousins)
  • It's Good To See The Sun (Cousins)
    Recorded at Sound Techniques Studios, Chelsea in April 1975
  • Sleeve Notes

    Producer Tom Allom
    Engineer Vic Gamm
    Recorded at Sound Techniques, Chelsea. June/July 1975

    Sleeve design
    Art Direction Fabio Nicoli
    Design Nick Marshall
    Photography Gered Mankowitz
    Printed and made by MacNeill Press Limited , London

    Other information
    The lyrics are included on a single page insert.

    The sleeve has the following acknowledgement:

    "Nomadness" by David Cousins, Dave Lambert, Chas Cronk and Rod Coombes with insanitary contributions and indecent exposure from: Tony Carr, Jim Dowler,Jack Emblow, Tommy Eyre (Courtesy of Polydor records ), Rob Harvey, John Lumley-Saville, John Mealing and Rick Wakeman.


    UK Chart: not placed
    US Chart: not placed

    Main; Newly Added; Upcoming gigs; Live; News; Albums; 45s; Video; Books; Lyrics; Gallery Features; Interviews; Tributes; Memorabilia; Timeline/History;
    Downloads; Related bands etc.; Sessions and cover versions; Links; get Strawbswebnews; Facebook Help Search site book Strawbs;

    Site © Copyright

    Please enable Javascript to view Strawbsweb

    - click on my name to e-mail me.