main ● newly added ● upcoming gigs ● live reviews ● news ●
albums ● 45s ● video ● books ● lyrics ●
galleries ● features ● interviews ● tributes ● memorabilia ● timeline/history ● downloads ●
related artists ● sessions/covers ● links ●
Strawbswebnews ● Facebook ● help ● search site ● book Strawbs ●

Dick Greener
click logo or select item
to close menu


Dick Greener

click logo to open menu


The Boy In The Sailor Suit extended edition front cover

Release date: 24 Jul 2020

A new re-mastered and expanded edition of the 2007 solo album by Strawbs founder Dave Cousins.

  • with three bonus tracks
  • new liner notes by Dave Cousins
  • if you pre-order from Cherry Red, limited edition signed postcard available with pre-orders while stocks last
  • This was Cousinsí second solo album, appearing thirty-five years after his first solo outing Two Weeks Last Summer. The album was a fine collection of personal songs and was produced by Chris Tsangarides. For the recording sessions Dave Cousins assembled a fine cast of musicians; Miller Anderson (guitar), Chas Cronk (bass), Ian Cutler (fiddle) and Chris Hunt (drums) with guests Chris Ball (piano), Tony Attwood (organ) and Elizabeth & Francis Tophill (vocal harmonies). The ensemble was to be known as The Blue Angel Orchestra (a reference to the epic track on Cousinsí first solo album). Following a few days rehearsal in Teddington, the album was recorded and mixed in just a week at Chris Tsangaridesí studio in Kent, with most tracks recorded live, giving the album a fine spontaneity. The finished album was widely praised upon its release by both Strawbs fans and critics.

    Unavailable for some years, the album has been newly re-mastered and expanded to include three bonus tracks featuring live performances of songs from the album, recorded in the USA in 2008 and in the UK in 2009. This release features the original artwork and booklet liner notes by Dave Cousins.

    See also the original album page.


    Dave Cousins - vocals, acoustic guitar
    Miller Anderson - guitar
    Ian Cutler - fiddle
    Chas Cronk - bass
    Chris Hunt - drums
    Tony Attwood - organ (track 9)
    Chris Ball - piano (track 10)
    (*) track 11 - Cousins, Cutler only

    Track listing

    1. Never Take Sweets From A Stranger
    2. Mellow Moon
    3. The Smile You Left Behind
    4. Calling Out My Name
    5. Mother Luck
    6. Wish You Were Here
    7. Skip To My Lou
    8. Lonely Days, Lonely Nights
    9. Bringing In The Harvest
    10. Hellfire Blues
    11. Bonus tracks on extended edition release

    12. (*) Never Take Sweets From A Stranger (Live, Recorded At Shank Hall, Milwaukee, 18 Mar 2008
    13. Skip To My Lou (Live, recorded at Strawbs 40th Anniversary Celebration, Twickenham, 13 Sep 2009)
    14. Hellfire Blues (Live, recorded at Strawbs 40th Anniversary Celebration, Twickenham, 13 Sep 2009)

    Main; Newly Added; Upcoming gigs; Live; News; Albums; 45s; Video; Books; Lyrics; Gallery Features; Interviews; Tributes; Memorabilia; Timeline/History;
    Downloads; Related bands etc.; Sessions and cover versions; Links; get Strawbswebnews; Facebook Help Search site book Strawbs;

    Site © Copyright

    Please enable Javascript to view Strawbsweb

    - click on my name to e-mail me.